Oh My Darling, Clementine. – Remington Lee

On March 5th my niece Clementine was born. While we were waiting at the hospital. I took note of what was going on. Here is the story of how Clementine Eleanor Lee was born.

Current time 3:20pm on March 4th

I am sitting in a hospital cafeteria waiting for my niece Clementine Eleanor Lee to be born. I got to school at 8am that morning, only to leave at 9:20am when I got the text that the doctor was going to break her water. I grabbed my backpack got in the car and headed down the mountain to the hospital. Kirsten is still in labor and has been since 12:30am. I am so excited for Clementine to be born.

Current time – 1:41 am on March 5th, 2015

 

My dad, my mom, Robby, Kirsten’s dad, Marc,  and her brother Matt, and I are all sitting in the cafeteria. Eating a very early breakfast. Though we are exhausted, we are not as nearly exhausted as Jeremy and Kirsten. They got here 36 hours ago, around 1pm on March 3rd. Kirsten has been in labor since 12:30am on March 4th. 25 hours now, I can’t even imagine what she is feeling right now. The baby should be coming very very soon.

This is Jeremy and Kirsten’s first child, I’m tearing up because I’m just so happy. I cannot wait and I’m just so overjoyed and exhausted. This will be a night I will always remember. I’m suppose to be going to school in a few hours but I’m not going to think about that right now.

 

Current time – 3:10am

They decided to do a C-section. Kirsten has done everything she can and it’s the only choice now. I feel so bad for her because it’s the last thing she wanted

Current time – 3:44am

Kirsten’s mom walked back to see what’s going on. She found out they’re not doing a c-section, they might give pushing another shot.

Current time – 3:52am

The doctor, Maria, who is also a family friend, came  out to talk to us in the waiting room. She explained that they’re gonna try to push, but her husband is getting on a flight at 5am. She said that needs someone to go to her house and sleep over to watch her kids while Kirsten is giving birth. She gave the house keys to Robby, my brother. He will be leaving at 4:30am.

Current time – 4:30am

Every time the baby bells go off in the hospital we run around and then ask the nurses if it was 1107 who just gave birth, every time they say no.

Current time – 5:00am

Kirsten is pushing again!! Birthing is insanely hard. The epidural wore off earlier, so she had to get more epidural. But then it made her sick, so then she was throwing up. All while having contractions.

Current time – 5:37am

Pushing didn’t work. They’re going ahead with the c-section.

Current time – 6:03am

They just took Kirsten and Jeremy back to the ER to do the c-section!

Current time – 6:06am

Jeremy just texted us saying the next baby chime would mean Clementine was here. At 6:50, we finally heard the chime.

Current time – 7:26am

Maria just came to tell us that Clementine is out and healthy. She is 8.9 pounds and 20 inches long. She was born at 6:44 am.

March 5th, 2015

At 3pm, I got to hold baby Clementine in my arms. She’s so beautiful, I almost cried again. She’s so sweet and already makes eye contact. It’s so amazing when a human, a real human so small and so new to the world, is in your arms. So fragile and so perfect, all that is on her mind is that there is so many things going on around her. I’m not even sure I am just guessing. Everytime I think about the fact that Clementine is here I start crying. Maybe it’s the fact that I have been awake for over 25 hours, or maybe it’s just the fact that I have another beautiful and healthy niece. This news is so amazing.

Leave a Reply

