Interview of Dani Johnson

Kristy: Do you feel Minarets is challenging you? If yes, in what ways?

Dani: “I think Minarets challenges me to do my best work and pursue my passions.  One of the great things about Minarets is that the teachers are really flexible on the work you have to do.  If you have a great idea for a project or something you really want to research, the teachers will often let you focus on what you’re really interested in.  I think this is a better approach than forcing all of the students to do the exact same work, because it is easier to learn about something you are passionate about.”

 

Kristy:  What kind of responsibilities come with being the Captain of the girls basketball team?

Dani: “You really have to be a leader and someone who the rest of the team can look up to.  Team captains are the representatives of their team, and as such, they need to show their best selves on and off the court.  Kelea and I also have to make sure we communicate with our team and our coach, Janeene Bebout.  She often has us relay information to our teammates because she wants it to come from her captains.  All in all, it can be a bit of pressure, but I am so honored to be a captain of our amazing team.”

 

Kristy: What advice would you give incoming juniors about taking the hardest class here at Minarets, APUSH?

Dani: “AP U.S. History is not a class for the faint of heart.  It’s a lot of work, and you really have to learn how to manage your time.  If the work from the class isn’t going to be your first priority, I wouldn’t recommend taking the class.”

 

Kristy: How do you handle keeping up your grades and playing a sport?

Dani: “It’s really tough to stay on top of all of my work while devoting so much of my time to sports, but it’s all about time management.  In order to not fall behind, I usually have to work ahead on the weekends.  You really have to be determined to make it work.”

 

Kristy: What skills that you’ve learned here at Minarets do you plan to use for your job?

Dani: “I plan on going into video game design, and I’m taking computer classes here to help me prepare.  I’m currently enrolled in a game design/programming class, which is helping me gain experience and knowledge in my career field.”

 

Kristy: How does it feel to be the only girl on Tech Support?

Dani: “It was a little bit strange at first, but it just feels normal to me now.  I am long used to being the only girl.  I love working with computers, and I can do just as well as any of the guys.  It’s fairly unusual to see girls interested in computers or programming, which I think will give me a step up when it comes to college and job applications.  It makes me stand out from the competition.”

Leave a Reply

